Down In The Dumps: The Doctor's Orders

Honestly folks, everyone has a bad day, maybe even a week or months. Depression, a little down in the dumps feeling from time to time. It is normal for humans to have these occasions. I used to jokingly say in response to people with the corny “Case of the Mondays” statements or ” Having one of those days?” questions with my personal rebuttal, “Have you ever had one of those lives.” I suffered from depression often and I didnt care who else suffered with me.

Down IN the Dumps

Thankfully the best treatment I ever received for this human condition was the revelation that the Lord will get me through the storm, that in this flesh I will never get out of the dumps so long as I am relying on my own strength and provision. God is my strength, He is my provider, my hope.

Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. (ESV)

This is probably one of the more famous verses regarding anxiety, worry and stress that we tend to try and carry on our own, but I want to point out the entire paragraph that Paul wrote here;

Philippians 4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (ESV)

You see, not only are we to just merely quit being anxious, we are to Rejoice and let everyone know why we are rejoicing and not being anxious in the midst of this wordly suffering. We share and show this joy and peace because it is evidence of God’s unrelenting grace in our unworthy lives. We take Joy because we are able to glorify God by telling of His grace in our suffering. Be in prayer for strength and thanksgiving, for He has given us the true prize that replaced this suffering a 1000 times over. Our suffering in the flesh is nothing in comparison to the wrath we deserve, so take refuge in the peace that is Christ Jesus that we cannot begin to comprehend, the peace of life everlasting.

I pray you find strength in His Word when you are down in the dumps, admittedly I found myself a little bitter and under the weather this week as me and my children have been getting over flu like illness and cabin fever was taking its toll. I prayed for renewed strength and a humble spirit facing this trial compared to previous times because I know I can’t possibly overcome anything on my own, and I should step aside and cast my burden at the foot of The Cross.

1 Peter 5:6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, 7 casting all your anxieties on him, because He cares for you. (ESV)

1 Peter 5:10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, mconfirm, strengthen, and establish you. 11 nTo him be the dominion forever and ever. Amen. (ESV)

Got two cents? Leave them here.

