Review of I kissed dating goodbye by Joshua Harris

I kissed dating goodbye by Joshua Harris

Well let’s begin by saying I am not young, nor single, nor was I an angel by any stretch of the imagination during my dating years. I have always enjoyed the attraction I have had to God’s gift to men, women. Now If I had only knew why they were to be treasured, respected, protected and honored then as much as I do now I would probably have a different perspective on this book.

Now as a young parent of a son and a daughter I can only praise the Lord for what he has done through Joshua’s book. of course it is radical, of course most of America and Christian Americans alike are going to call him crazy and a “Jesus Freak” or something like that after understanding the thesis of the book. However it has been the same with all books recently that have shaken up the comfortable legalistic or nominal Christian faith that we have all seen fester into the disease that has plagued the western church.

He does eloquently present the case for a radical approach to dating as courthship, He does own his own flesh and desires that cause struggles and has called out the worldview issues that have led to the oversexualization of everthing and the push to date earlier and earlier even if there is no real intent to marry. Then he calls it what it is: Isn’t this just crazy and sinful to lead ourselves into this temptation over and over and cause emotional baggage for our next relationship by doing all of this dating the American way?

It is obviously meant for teens or younger adults, but Parents and leaders of the young can learn a lot, I mean a lot from this book for a realistic eye opening account of dating in the later 20th and early 21st century and the honest truth that it presents that conflict with Scripture.
I was given this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of the Blogging For Books program in return for this review.
http://www.amazon.com/review/R3K5E5KCUDV0CX/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

One thought on “Review of I kissed dating goodbye by Joshua Harris

  1. You might find my blog of interest where I critique Josh Harris’s book.

    http://www.ikdg.wordpress.com
    I Kissed Dating Goodbye: Wisdom or Foolishness?

    Unfortunately Josh Harris is quick to point out the problems with dating but reluctant to share any of the problems with his approach.

    Hope this helps.

Got two cents? Leave them here.

